Diabetes Forecast

Editorial Contacts

The magazine is published each month in print and digital editions by the American Diabetes Association. All articles are reviewed by a dedicated group of volunteers who are health care professionals with clinical and/or research experience.

Editorial Questions

If you have comments or questions about material in the magazine or on this website, please contact the Editors.

E-mail us at:


Send mail to:

Diabetes Forecast
2451 Crystal Drive, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22202

Subscription Services

To change an address, order a gift, or check your membership status, please contact the Customer Service department.

Call us at:

1-800-806-7801 (U.S.)

515-237-3691 (outside the U.S.)

E-mail us at:


Staff and Volunteers


Executive Editor

Matt Petersen

Managing Editor

John C. Warren

Design and Production

Mittera Creative Services

Editor In Chief

Paris Roach, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Indiana University School of Medicine

Associate Editors

Jolynn Gibson, MSN, RN, CDE
Diabetes Educator
VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System

Christy L. Parkin, MSN, RN, CDE
Health Management Resources Inc.
Diabetes Education and Consulting Services
Carmel, Ind.

Henry Rodriguez, MD
Medical Director
University of South Florida Diabetes Center
Tampa, Fla.

Madelyn L. Wheeler, MS, RD, FADA, CD
Nutritional Computing Concepts
Zionsville, Ind.

Craig Williams, PharmD
Professor of Pharmacy
Oregon Health and Science University Medical Center
Oregon State University College of Pharmacy
Portland, Ore.

Editorial Board

Belinda Childs, APRN, MN, BC-ADM, CDE
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Great Plains Diabetes
Wichita, Kan.

Paul Ciechanowski, MD, MPH
Associate Professor
Consultation-Liaison & Primary Care Psychiatry
University of Washington

Mary de Groot, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Indiana University School of Medicine

Robert A. Gabbay, MD, PhD
Chief Medical Officer
Joslin Diabetes Center

Bret Goodpaster, PhD
Director, Exercise Metabolism Core
Translational Research Institute for Metabolism and Diabetes
Professor, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
Orlando, Fla.

Michael A. Weiss, Esq.
Attorney, Keevican Weiss Bauerle & Hirsch LLC

Reader Panel

Shawn Adams

Cindy Lou Betz

Patricia Camilli

Kjersten Cook, PhD

Melissa Engel

Madelyn Perahia Fink, MS, MA

Diane George

P.C. Gopalratnam, PhD, PE

David Greene, PhD

Janet Howard-Duscay, RN, BSN, CDE

Joyce T. Monroe

April J. Nachtigal, MA

Donna Patron

Laurie Ryan

Stephen Shaul

Theresa Steele, MAT, CCC-SLP

2020 American Diabetes Association Board of Directors

Chair of the Board
Umesh Verma

President, Health Care & Education
Mary de Groot, PhD

President, Medicine & Science
Robert H. Eckel, MD

Martha Parry Clark, MBA

Chair of the Board-Elect
John Schlosser

President-Elect, Health Care & Education
Cynthia Muñoz, PhD, MPH

President-Elect, Medicine & Science
C. Ronald Kahn, MD

Christopher Ralston, JD

Chief Executive Officer
Tracey D. Brown, MBA, BChE

Publishing and Membership

Managing Director, Membership & Publishing Operations

Lori Rainford

Director, Membership/ Subscription Services

Donald Crowl



Take the Type 2
Diabetes Risk Test